Poets logo

Lost & found

a story of us

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
27
Made with CanvaPro

I lost you while you're still alive,

Watching comprehension slowly fade.

Eyes echoing a vacant view,

Lips that won't form my name.

They used to hold

Stories, dreams,

Hopes and lifetimes

In chocolate irises and ruby kisses

Warming me up inside,

Lighting my soul on fire.

Each day now filled with

All the love and care

Gifted to me,

Poured back into you.

Slowly eroded by

Handfuls of pills and

Little unknown good-byes.

Our golden years

Stolen by age

And vengeful nature,

Written by genes

In star-crossed skies.

Your body, still here

Grounding me as I

Wash your brow.

Your face still here

For me to linger on

Tracing lines carved

By laughter and joy.

But your beautiful

Creative, brilliant mind

Has crossed over

Leaving me behind.

Someday I'll find you

Whole again

And rejoice.

____________________________________________________

Written for all those couples, all those sons and daughters, sisters and brothers, friends and caregivers struggling with seeing a loved one with dementia. I've been witness to and helped care for my grandfather with Alzheimer's and have seen the effect of dementia in other loved ones.

If you liked this piece, please consider reading this one:

sad poetry
27

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.6 months ago

    This... ugh. My heart hurts so bad. This brought back a lot of memories of my childhood watching as my grandpa slowly lost himself. You captured the grief and pain so well. As much as it hurts, I'm glad you wrote this. <3 This isn't a topic that's often talked about.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Wonderful writing! Very beautiful and bittersweet!

  • My Name Is Not Cypressabout a year ago

    "Eyes echoing a vacant view, Lips that won't form my name. " Bravo!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful. Love this line " Your beautiful mind has crossed over." Exceptional ❤️❤️❤️

  • 🥲Beautiful 🌟🙏💞👍

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Powerful stuff! "eyes echoing a vacant view" Loved that line.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Such beautiful wording that compellingly and masterfully combines sentiment and the haunting nature of this thing we call life.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    For loved ones everywhere. Heartfelt and beautiful.

  • PPabout a year ago

    Hey, I just published a love poem, can read it and give me some feedback.

  • PPabout a year ago

    Heart touching

  • Slowly eroded by a handful of pills. That line hit me hard. There was so much of emotions in this one. Such a beautiful poem for those whose loved ones are having dementia!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Another gorgeous piece, Heather. I'm sorry that you & your loved ones have had to suffer in this way. Sending hugs your way! You honored your loved one in such a beautiful way with this piece! I agree, this feels like another well-deserved TOP STORY! God bless you!

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    This brought tears to my eyes! Beautiful, just beautiful! To me, the mark of any good artistic expression is the ability to make the observer, in this case, reader, feel something. It's not easy, but you did it here. Excellent work!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Such a cruel, savage disease. Your reconciliation is emotionally captivating. Thank you for sharing!

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    Those are amazing words!!!! really like it

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I feel this in my soul. You nailed it, my friend.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Your words paint an heartfelt & accurate picture. Left some love 💖💖💕

  • Sending hugs for your amazing words, I see another Top Story too

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Painters see light and dark, poets feel it. You are a poet. This is an accurate and Emotive capture of a harsh reality I’ve experienced with my mom. Thank you Heather. 🥰

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a great and accurate picture. My mom suffered with dementia. What a cruel disease

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh Heather, this moved me. My Nana suffered from Alzheimer’s. It is truly the cruelest disease. You captured everything and somehow made a sense of beauty from the tragedy. Thank you so much for sharing this. 🥲

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.