Poets logo

Lost and Forgotten

Forgotten Poems of the Past

By Arica WebbPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lost and Forgotten
Photo by Dariusz Sankowski on Unsplash

Whispers of the Dead

What am I?

Nothing.

Who am I?

Nothing.

Where am I?

Nowhere.

I'm the empty thoughts in your head.

The sinking bottomless pit in your stomach.

The missing skin and nails on your fingers.

The beads of sweat that cover your pale forehead.

Are you worried, John Doe?

Is someone going to uncover me,

Bringing your dirty secrets into the light?

It shouldn't be long now...

I'm right where you left me.

Six feet under the cold dead ground.

I wrote this listening to an episode of True Crime on the Investigation Discovery Channel. My mother and I use to watch them all time and what always go me were the ones that went unsolved for the longest time. It always was so upsetting when police or some random citizen doesn't find the body and the victims' families are left wondering whatever happened to their son or their daughter. I think that the unknown is worse than knowing because the mind can make up horrible scenarios of what happened to their loved one and honestly I can't blame them. I hope that I will never have to go through that as a parent, sister, or daughter.

Unrequited

When will our story start?

When will our story end?

Tomorrow brings a whole day.

But I'm still stuck in yesterday.

Stuck on the same day on a loop.

Around and around we go.

You still live on.

I'm stuck in the past.

You'll soon move on and forget.

I'll still remember.

Ashes to ashes, everyone falls down.

But I wasn't the one to rise again.

Do you still remember?

Or am I a forgotten memory?

This is pretty obvious. Back in high school, I had a giant crush on this guy for years. He would always make me laugh and smile, cheer me up on my bad days. So falling was easy. But as the story goes he never viewed me in that way and being the dramatic teenager I was, I thought I was going to be alone for the rest of my life. So there is the background behind this one.

Escaping Fear

Slowly drinking dreaming.

Lost in all my memories.

Wishing I could escape,

Escape my past.

I'm silently screaming.

Wanting the pain to go away.

Trying not to live in fear.

Every day I'm smiling.

So they won't see.

I've got to hide it inside.

Because if they see it,

He might get them too.

I'm not going to go very into detail with this one but this poem helped me put what I was feeling after an event that happened so very long ago out there. It helped me vent in a safe way that didn't make me feel like I was forced into talking about what happened. It gave me a small amount of release to that wound I'd been carrying.

Burning Monsters

I rose with the moon

And fell with the sun.

You were a perfect sunny day,

And I was your beautiful shadow.

But you were flawed.

The kind I thought you lived with.

As your true colors shown bright,

I came to know what you were deep inside.

You weren't the angel everyone thought,

You were the devils' perfect creation.

Got everyone fooled.

Everyone, but, your victims.

And we're ready to see you burn.

This one is a little self-explanatory too. I "dated" this guy. He played around and toyed with my emotions and managed to push all the right buttons. He had this bad reputation with girls, getting a little handsy or even flashing them at one point. Being me, I didn't really listen. I thought that maybe this time could be different for both parties. No one would get hurt. Oh, but boy was I wrong. He ended up having multiple girls lined up and as soon as he got bored with me he dropped me like a dime.

Poems can be interpreted in many different ways. So even though I explain a little with how I was feeling or what I was thinking you can put your own spins on it for how it fits your life and these words make you feel.

PLEASE NOTE, These Poems Are in A Book On Wattpad by the Author Name ARIXASCRIBE. That Is Me. This Hasn't Been Stolen.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Arica Webb

I love writing, reading, and art. I have many stories to tell and I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I love writing them. Please enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.