Poets logo

Looking In

A Foggy Picture

By Maria KalafatisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Looking In
Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

I look through a glass barrier

Cover by a light thin fabric

It is dark outside

So, I can see the shadow of people because their lights are on

I can see people sitting at a table

Handing over plates and food

It seems like a young family as some shadows are smaller than others

I can also see a shadow of a tv where the heads seem to turn

I wonder what they are watching

Could it be a game show, a movie, or a family tv show?

Maybe they could be watching sport

I watch trying to make up everyone’s life story

For my own amusement of course

I don’t know these people

Their lives do not affect me

I assume that they have a great family life

But I could be wrong

The shadows are just a blurry picture

There is nothing definitive about it

Just a bunch of assumptions that I come up with

Maybe the dynamic changes when the kids go to sleep

Maybe it is not a happy marriage

And they just put a facade when their children are around

But all I can tell right now is that there is a family looking at the tv

Talking and laughing with each other

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Maria Kalafatis

I am a creative writer that loves to write poems and short stories, as well and the ocasonal review on stuff that I love and enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.