Poets logo

Looking in

2014

By testedTransgressor Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m outside your window looking in on your world, but all I can see is nothing.

No colour

No depth

No dreams

No life

You’re an empty shell, the carcass of some creature left behind after the carnivores picked the good meat and left the rest to rot. You wasted your best years, gave up on those stars - they always hung that little bit too far out of reach, didn’t they?

Now, you’re just a bag of bones, with the bag made of your skin. You might have a heart, but it beats in time to the tick of the clock that counts down to your last breath

The years

The months

The weeks

The days

The hours

The minutes

The seconds

Until that darkness you welcomed as a child reaches for you and you take its hand

And it pulls you out in that final breath.

But I’ll stay outside, always looking in

That world wants me dead but I just won’t give in

My heart beats well and truly out of time

And I’ll reach for any stars I can find

I know I’ll fall - but you can’t learn to fly without the fall.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

testedTransgressor

Brisbane-based || LJ

Worldbuilding || Exploring || Journalling

Fantasy || Sci-fi || Fiction || Fanfiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

testedTransgressor is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.