Poets logo

Looking at the world through your eyes

What special needs kids see that we don’t

By Gwendolyn Farris - baldwinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Look at you sitting so proud , I didn’t know there would be a crowd.

As I sit here and watch you grow I didn’t know soon this world would know.

This journey that you are taking us on is going to show them where you belong.

There are battles we will be fighting

“Oh my how exciting!”

You see the world differently I don’t understand , but still you take me by the hand.

Showing me what you see , now I understand perfectly.

I sit here and cry every night wondering if your going to be alright.

These battles never knock you down maybe it’s because I’m around.

I don’t know how you never get weak , these battles are knocking me off of my feet.

It’s a struggle every day and these battles just won’t go away.

We make a good team you and me.

You give me strength so we can defeat these battles that are in between.

As I sit here and hold you tight , now I know everything is going to be alright.

You were sent to me for a reason , and now I can see why.

It takes a strong person to continue fighting this fight.

We still have a long road ahead of us buddy sit tight.

These battles haven’t beaten us yet , and we know they can try.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Gwendolyn Farris - baldwin

I am a mother of 4 children , I enjoy writing poems in my spare time. My goal is to become an author and have all of my poetry published in a book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.