Poets logo

Look Beyond what you see

Truth lies underneath the skin.

By Tee GasuPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Look beyond what you see.

Our first breath gave purpose to this world,

The gift of life has been bestowed upon an individual who has gained mortality.

However, some choices we cannot control ourselves,

Some born with silver spoons, others born amongst the elves.

Some with disabilities,

While others enjoy every possibility.

We cannot choose where and when we will be conceived.

But when we try to tell others who we are, we are sometimes easily deceived.

Allow me to introduce myself,

Subtract the accent and New Zealand soil I was born in. Calculate the sum of my brown skin, black curly hair and light brown eyes. Multiply it by Samoan culture, Rheumatic fever and christianity and this equals identity.

Is this who I am though? Is this really my true identity?

Surely I’m more than my ethnicity, religion, a medical condition and appearance.

Let me see if I can make a difference.

Look beyond what you see.

These are not eyes, but a compass

Its direction is influenced by the crowds I choose to be around.

These are not feet, but an anchor.

Its footsteps and destination is governed by the choices I make.

These are not hands, but a torch.

One whose light is guided by its own capacity to write a story and legacy.

These are not ears, but a volume tuner,

It filters what should be heard and what shouldn’t.

Let me try again.

Allow me to introduce myself,

I am a loving daughter of earthly and heavenly parents with a divine purpose to succeed.

The ancestral blood that flows within my veins is a manifestation that they live through me.

My name's a reminder of where my parents love story began,

Although foreign to the tongue, incorrect on miscrosoft and google, my name is what led to my existence.

Stereotypical views and beliefs have taught me the impotance resilience and persistence.

As a child I learnt that your beauty comes from within,

Because truth lies underneath the skin.

I love to live in the moment, treasure and create memories,

Because when I leave this world behind I will not be taking any necessities or accessories.

I don’t believe in easy journeys, but understand that going through trials and hardships is the process of what builds my character.

Subtract ethnicity, religion, rheumatic fever and appearance. Calculate the sum of crazy, dancing queen, and risk taker, multiply it by love, family and memories this equals identity.

Has the journey beyond made you see?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tee Gasu

Taught perfection, practice progression. There's no rules in writing! The only limitation is you! You have the autority to add power, creativity and change the world as an artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.