Poets logo

Longing

By Michael NashPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

This room I’m hiding in

Is dark and unaware

Foreboding and savage

Hungry for more of my light

Bite by bite piece by piece

Consuming the better part of me

Until the discarded shell remains

Saturated beneath a facade of smiles

Masked in laughter

Shrouded in steady unflinching

Capitulation

Clothed in white flags

Arms raised high, head bent downward

Eyes half closed

Waiting for the finale

Longing for the finale

Hoping for the finale

Trained to be thankful for the stale crumbs

Or the razor nails scratching my head

Or the toxic kiss from poison lips

Just so I might feel wanted

Just so I might feel human for a moment

I lay face up, neck exposed

My throat beckons the dull teeth of slow death

Feeling useful in my uselessness

Seal my eyes in despair

Seal my lips in silence

Seal my heart in wax and my love in ice

Until the curtains rise

And I feel the warm breath of heaven on my face

And hear the joyful songs of the living

And see the shining Son

Eyes to eyes

Face to face

Heart to heart

Wrapped at last eternally

In the still warm blanket

Of God’s eternal love

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Michael Nash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.