Poets logo

Living In Black Skin

A short poem written by Georgette Smith

By Georgette SmithPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
5

I can’t go outside because I’m frightened.

The color of my skin shines so bright and that offends you.

Or maybe it’s the way I talk; with twang in my slang, chest held high, and loud music as a go too.

What about my clothes, that disgust you?

Is it because they were passed down from mom, sister, cousin, and now they’re mine to sport too?

I love my nappy hair, but you despise it.

These kinky-curls spiral into an Afro; just the way I like it. But, you can’t see me.

You are misguided and guilty.

Your hate for me is unconditional; as if my looks are really that pivotal.

Or maybe it is.

Does the color of my skin disturb your insecurities?

Do these lips, nose, and big brown eyes dilute your maturity?

I want to know because I am confident in my skin and afraid at the same time.

I want to live life but don’t know when somebody will take mine.

All these senseless killings and racial injustice.

Just the other day, a police officer was the culprit.

We are not safe anywhere and that’s the saddest,

I just want to live in a world where color is banished...

- Georgette Smith

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Georgette Smith

I am a 24 year old entrepreneur, innovator, and curator. There is nothing I can not do. If I can Dream it, then I can Achieve it! - G.Smith

Follow me on Instagram: _georgettesmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.