Poets logo

Livestock

The great escape

By Jania WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Jahoo Clouseau

Here I stand on thirsty earth

And gaze beyond the wire

Preparing for a better place

Beyond the blazing fire

A place of greener pastures

Where I can graze all day

No fence to hold me captive

A chance to roam and play

A place where I am more than

Just a mere commodity

Where I'm not 'just a product'

Where I'll finally be free

A place where my life matters

Where I'm not just a slave

Where no one steals my baby's food

And sends him to the grave

A place where I can be the mother

I was meant to be

And keep my baby by my side

To feed and bond with me

And so I stand here ready

Quite resigned to meet my fate

And watch the fauna flee

In desperation as I wait

Its calling me, that pleasant realm

Beyond the smokey haze

Its beconing me on now

Towards brighter, better days

And now I leave this all behind

I bid the earth farewell

Cruel inferno set me free

I've done my time in hell

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jania Williams

I have always found verbal communication challenging, so I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.