Poets logo

Lives Like the Leaves

A Journey Through the Seasons of Life

By Whitney RodenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Our lives are much like the leaves

When we're born, just like in Spring

Our bodies are small like tiny buds

Straining for every bit of sun

Then we bloom and start to grow

A healthy green begins to show

Full of life and vitality

That can outshine you or me

Then, As the green of youth begins to pass

We turn more vibrant than the last

Bright and bold is what we are

Like fire from a burnt-out star

Then, as we grow wise and old

Our youthful bodies begin to fold

Our colors drain. our bodies frail

Hanging no with just our tales

And then the world becomes too harsh

And we find we must depart

We let go of our lives and fly away

Only to meet again someday

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Roden

My name is Whitney and I have been an avid reader since I was 3. I am currently going to school to be an educator for elementary and collaborative students. I am also a painter and photographer. I hope you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.