Poets logo

Limerick Time

Sapphire and Steel and Freaky Clocks

By Harmony KentPublished about a year ago 3 min read
13
Created with AI Image Generator: www.fotor.com

Just as in the first ever 70’s reel

Of that classic show Sapphire and Steel

While here you’ll find no reason but plenty of rhyme

You’ll certainly begin to question time

It happens too often to seem real

><><><

Every time I check the clock

I receive an unpleasant shock

It could be 10:10, 22:22, 05:50, or 03:03

Whatever the numbers I know what I’ll see

And now it’s spread to hubby it’s unlikely to stop

><><><

So far we haven’t vanished and left behind

A boy and girl worried out of mind

The clocks keep going tick-tock tick-tock

Only my heart stops and drops like a rock

But for sure we’re in a bind

><><><

What lies beneath this phenomenon?

A thing that feels so utterly wrong

What can be the significance?

For no way it’s any coincidence

And it’s gone on for so long

><><><

I swear my words are true

And I don’t know what to do

Why do the numbers always match?

What could possibly be the catch?

I wish I wish I wish I knew

><><><

Hubby just climbed back into bed

And his laugh and words messed with my head

'Ha! It’s happening to me now.'

I can’t get a grip on the what, the why, or the how

For my arms are full of a profound sense of dread

><><><

Which is why instead of sleep

I’m here writing so as not to weep

We both saw the ominous digits—03:03

Could it be some sort of key?

Whatever it opens, this time river runs too deep

><><><

So if, dear reader, suddenly I go away

With neither word nor warning, I say

'It’s been nice knowing you—a real blast

'But where to look—future or past?'

No, don’t seek, for safe I’d like you to stay

><><><

Each time you check your clock—if you dare

Squint your eyes and take due care

Don’t look too close nor too long

Just in case this curse passes on

And pulls you into this limerick nightmare

><><><

Now that I’ve given you rhyme and fright

I’ll hit send and call it a night

And though the numerals glow 04:04

It’s time for me to close this dark ditty-door

And may all in your world be filled with love and light!

><><><

[Author's Note: I'm not sure about humorous or ludicrous, but this certainly strikes me as absurd. For as long as I can remember, this has happened to me roughly 99% of the time I check the time on the digital clock in the bedroom. And this morning, after hubby had gotten up in the night and returned to bed, he looked at the clock and laughed. Then he said, 'Ha! It's happening to me now!' So, of course, I opened my bleary eyes and checked the time ... 03:03 ... I kid you not! After that, try as I might, I could not get back to sleep as the verses for this darn limerick kept running through my sleep-deprived-addled brain. So, as I'm such a generous soul, I'm now sharing this bit of nonsense with my Vocal friends! 😉]

surreal poetryfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love this, it was fun and engaging! You had me entranced and I fear I'll be clock watching all day, subconsciously wanting to see the numbers but not catch the curse! 😜

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Funny you mention about the numbers, I always seem to see 9:11.

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    I love your work it is refreshing. Thank you very much for the wind and the opportunity to read your precious work.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Wow, well done! This piece is put together so great, such great flow and creativity! Personally I am superstitious - if I glance at the clock and it reads a numerical, like 2:03, or 3:04, I make myself look back at the clock a few minutes later. Wild how the mind works!

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    I often see repetitive numbers on clocks at home and everywhere. When I do, I pause and say a prayer. I think angels visit and playfully remind they are with us. ❤️

  • Mae Clairabout a year ago

    I chuckle out of this, and can so relate. For me, the numbers come in series of threes: 1:11, 2:22, 3:33, 4:44, 5:55. I can't tell you how many times that happens to me---and I LOVE when it happens! 😁

  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    I don’t have a clock next to my bed so I have to get up to check the time. It rarely happens.

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    Oh my! I, too have the numbers plague. :) My favorite, 3:33. Well done, Harmony!

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Well done, Harmony. This would drive me nuts, so I hope it is not contagious.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.