Poets logo

Limerick Eight

The Theatrical One

By Owen SchaeferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Limerick Eight
Photo by Alev Takil on Unsplash

The musicals showing on Broadway

Have run out of stories to portray.

So, new ones they seize

From older movies —

Just pack in some songs, and it’s pay-day!

◼︎

I eagerly await Silence of the Lambs: The Musical. (Criticism aside, I'm going to see Allegiance, tomorrow. There are still great things happening in theatre.)

I know I promised I would stop at six limericks. But now, I have stopped at eight. Accordingly, your relief is expected to be twenty-five percent greater. You're welcome.

I now return to writing my novel's final scenes ... honest.

I need to stop thinking in rhyme.

I hope I can do it in time.

But on a side-note,

A story I wrote

Is right here. It won’t cost you a dime:

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Owen Schaefer

Owen Schaefer is a Canadian writer, editor and playwright living in the U.K. He writes fiction, speculative fiction, and breezy articles on writing, AI, and other nonsense. Attacks of poetry may occur.

More at owenschaefer.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.