Poets logo

Lilac Legends

The Language of Children & Flowers

By HopePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2022
13
Photo taken by author, Art by The Funk Gurus

Lilac legends.

Observed through children,

Sunshine babes and crystal youngin’s

Rainbow aura’s glisten Spring,

These special gifts they bring

From the reality they play within.

The first Lilac Child I met

Placed with me, a silly bet.

Confused what to do,

Unsure which thoughts proved

Fruitful or stupid,

They found me drilling myself useless,

It’s simpler than you perceive.”

Said the lavender teen before me.

Woke from nightmare-daydreams,

How did they know what I was thinking?

But desperation brought out curiosity,

I questioned, “How do you mean?”

Grin and continued, the purple being,

Thoughts are like seeds.

Plant them. Right here, below your feet.

Tend to them. Softly.

Carefully watch, be attending.

See what blooms;

Is it a flower? A weed?

An invasive species?

A sapling? Or nothing?

Does it die?

Will it take time?

You’ll know which choice is right,

Only you can truly decide

For it depends on what you have in mind.”

Okay… I let the message sink.

Are you serious?”

I ask in disbelief.

Well, let’s see.

You can listen to you, or listen to me.

Your thoughts are overflowing.

Whatever you foster needs pruning

And right now? You suck at gardening.”

Ok... fair enough.

This kid got me good.

Time for me to pick up my tools,

Try something funky new.

So I dropped a thought,

On this very spot,

Secretly hoping I’d grown something small...

Imagine, next fall

I found nothing at all.

I sighed. Then spring,

To my last hope I cling.

Imagine, for a second I thought my eyes deceived

Oh no, yes yes,

it’s a freaking weed.

I finally leave,

finally defeated.

It was a few weeks when

The lilac legend knocked on my door, and then

Chirped, “Here! A dandelion.

A flower of transformation.

With seeds which blow all across the land,

It means you're an inspiration.

By simply taking a stand,

And giving your dreams a chance,

Basically, you win the bet.”

And that’s how I found an eternal friend,

Whom helped me ascend,

But more than that, I play. I pretend.

I realized how to be a child again…

...

The Legend of Flowers–

How colors designate areas of your life,

Behaviors and patterns alike

As a Guide to energetically balance & align;

The blooming bud of rush,

rubicund dust,

Maroon-red rust.

Solid, strong, maybe stubborn, but stable

A brand-new sturdy foundation.

Suntanned, sunset

Bronzed or perfumed,

enjoyment-orange–

For passionate temptation,

Or the fired-up creative endeavor

You’re meant for.

Sunshine, blinding

Hues inner-smiling,

Yellow-state-of-minding

This is confidence.

The will to execute is precedence

For any goal to circumnivate.

Heart beating,

Fresh dew-greeting

Green growing,

finish Pink

productive waiting & showing.

It’s actually easy–

Open your arms as love flows freely,

Make what makes your heart happy.

Chirpy vocal chorus

Sky blue encircles,

And holds us.

Express.

Let your story speak for itself,

And the rest goes as it’s meant.

Deep beneath,

Murky or clean?

Navy-watery

cobalt-keen.

Intuition is a project

Trust yourself,

the mirror is your colleague.

Magnificent light,

Magenta-love,

Or White

All-of-the-above.

A beacon–

To see your world from the outside

As other-wordly guides

Surround to elevate you

In this current lifetime.

….

Now, plants are a different story;

All will sprout, all will root.

But to what performance

performing?

A visitor

Will reap to enjoy.

In the season of it’s choice,

A yearly exertion

Between present and poise.

Perennial’s ploy

Vary, and the methods they reinforce–

Persist? Or self-dismiss?

Recess the detest,

They come back stronger than before.

Tree’s are legacies.

For an Oak peaks, only

After growing steadily 300 years.

In the first stages,

Vulnerable or “weak”

But the strength to outlast

Wind, wrath, collapse, or siege.

“Weeds” are relative to the beholder,

For we should all know,

That not all glitter is golden.

If what you sow

Doesn’t instantly grow,

it simply means you didn’t know,

The powerful thought below,

Needed more time to unfold.

You’ll find tending is relative.

What amount of watchful eyes,

Required

Could fuel one,

And the other, retire.

No matter how hard you try,

You can’t fake, you can’t force

Fated growth.

Each is individual. Different.

It’s better to drop dark thoughts

Than to keep them and grow scars.

Even if it’s an actual dud–

Stick your hands in the mud,

Come down from above.

Let yourself have some fun.

Soak in the Sun.

Feel the Love.

What is meant for you will come.

All that’s asked, is a little

Trust.

N.Vs

IV. 2021

performance poetry
13

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • W. Joe O'Banion2 years ago

    I don't typically love long poetry as I have a hard time staying captivated, but that wasn't the case with this one! Good job!

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    One of the most relevant messages the world needed to hear, you have a gift.

  • Nice

  • Grace Downey2 years ago

    Thoroughly captivated during your entire piece! The rhythm and commentary added a playful feel to the words of wisdom. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.