Poets logo

Light on Water

A 4th of July Memoir

By AnnaMarie JenemaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Light on Water
Photo by Yolanda Suen on Unsplash

Outside from this lonely pane of glass I see a shimmer on the roof. My eyes, drawn to its source, happen to come across pools of a glimmering liquid. There water has gathered in puddles, reflecting the dreamy clouds and a small hint of sunlight. The rippling waves take a moment to remove a façade of serenity before the waters still once more. Under its surface, today’s calm and tenderness lay reflecting a sweet as honeysuckle memory.

It was a difficult time, a hurricane had brewed – bringing darkness and despair. An afternoon that otherwise would’ve been spent ignored with ungrateful people I couldn’t stand had transformed. The light had brought me into the center of my storm, A time of freedom and joy. Instead I spent the patriotic day with friends. Two girls were bathing in the sunlight near a lake, napping, after a meal and a busy day. They were absorbing the peace and relaxation our surroundings brought. While they rested, I watched the sunlight move along the lake’s waves. Dancing through lily pads and playing tag with the shore. The wind joined in, pushing the waves back and forth; rocking us to sleep while it teased the sunlight. Time passed and I had to wave goodbye to its beauty. But later that afternoon this wonderment would again be paralleled.

Moving to the dam, we dived into the pond as the waterfall pulled us towards its cascading waters. We laughed and swam as the sunlight played with our skin and hair. Kissing the waves that rippled from our movement. I discovered how alive the love between sunlight and water was. Splash! Someone would jump in, and oh how alive the light would be. Flowing with the waves that the diver created. Soon we grew tired of swimming. The sparkling sunlight dripped from our gnarled, soaked hair as we left the pond for our spot on its banks. A shallow spot where fish swam behind algae and seaweed. Their bodies sparkling as the light caressed their scales. I dipped my finger into the pond only to watch the light ripple with the water. Later as night began to fall I learned that not only did sunlight have a longing for water – but all kinds of light.

The sun had fallen into the ground, and soon a roar sounded as fireworks came alive. The water was animated with these lights, dazzling in beautiful colors and brightness. This rebounded an awe in me. My eyes moving back and forth from the sky to the water and back again. The astounding light display mirrored by its lover. I was captivated throughout the show until the last firework sounded.

From there we had a campfire, light loving everything it touched. As scary stories escaped our lips, it hugged us into security with its warmth. Our smiles all the brighter as the fire lit up our faces, caressing our excitement. But soon the day came to an end, the calm of the storm pushing me back under into my despair. But such a precious memory held tightly to follow me into my own void. A day where I was wild and free without a care in the world. All I cared about was happiness and spending time with those I love. And now again I stand in front of this glass window, staring out at the sunlight dancing in water. This puddle of light had floated a gentle memory back into my arms.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

AnnaMarie Jenema

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.