Poets logo

Life at a Funeral

A poem of thoughts at a funeral

By Sean SelleckPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Life at a Funeral
Photo by Mayron Oliveira on Unsplash

What am I going to do without him?

I loved him so much,

As much as a wife can love her husband anyway.

Now he lies there in his casket,

Leaving me with the bill.

I loved him so much,

Did his wife know he was having an affair?

Now he lies there in his casket

In his eternal slumber.

Hopefully his wife will never know.

Did his wife know he was having an affair?

Everyone else knows.

In his eternal slumber,

He never has to worry about this again.

Killing him was the right thing to do.

Everyone else knows,

They’re all staring at me,

He never has to worry about this again.

Though I doubt they really care,

As I sit here in my own excrement.

They’re all staring at me

As I lie in my own coffin.

Though I doubt they really care.

My wife, my lover, my killer, my son.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sean Selleck

Hobby writer with a love for genre fiction, and focussing on prose and scripts with the occasional dabble in poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.