Poets logo

letting go

and holding onto myself

By Hayli WilsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I will not fight against time

or wrestle with the wind.

When the sun sets, I will welcome the moon

and let the darkness embrace me.

Seasons will come,

bringing showers and blooms and color;

and they will go,

taking the hours of the day and the moments they held with them -

I will not resist.

I will feel the rain when it pours

and let the sun's extended rays soothe me.

these passing minutes will not send me into hiding;

instead, I will wade in these waters while they are here,

but I'll never chase the waves as they recede from shore.

seconds will slip through my fingers like grains of sand,

and I won't lose more scrambling to hold onto them.

when the birds come I will greet them

and join in on the song they sing,

but when they leave I will carry on with my own tune -

and I will bid them goodbye.

- the lesson of letting go

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.