Poets logo

Letting Go

VII- When is it ever time to say goodbye?

By DesobaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Letting Go
Photo by Chaney Zimmerman on Unsplash

Letting Go

When they ask me what went wrong

I'm afraid I won't have an excuse

When they wonder why not us

I shall have to ask the same thing

To think I was doing right by you

Not saying how I truly felt

To protect what I thought we had

What kind of friendship is that?

If you had only told me to my face what you wanted

Perhaps I would have said "me too"

Because deep down I really do

If I had only been straight with you

Perhaps we would still be a thing

Threading through life having each other's backs

what a dream that is now

I want to say I'm sorry

that its all my fault

but we both know it takes two to tango

Maybe its all in my head

For all I know, I could have just been a kindred spirit and nothing more

I don't know how many more memories to birth out

what else to tell myself you are still there

For the sun is setting so

and I guess I have to do the same -

To put these feelings to rest;

to do the one thing I never saw myself doing.

If we are to go on separate paths - snap the pod we both cohabited in

Then I must do just that.

When they ask me what went wrong

I still won't know what to say

But to let go,

I sadly must...

- desoba__

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Desoba

Every story is worth telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.