Poets logo

Letter 10/20/21

10/20/21

By Emery PinePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Letter 10/20/21
Photo by Elena Putina on Unsplash

10/20/21

Dear Unnamed,

You said once you have no dream way of being proposed to or have an idea of how to do the proposing. We may never even get married, but let me tell you my dream way of getting proposed to. I’m a hopeless romantic and I’ve done a lot of thinking on this, and wile there re a lot of ways I’ve daydreamed about, I have finally discovered my favorite idea thus far. Let me set the scene for you:

In our family, we open one of our presents on Chrusimas Eve and wait to open the rest on Christmas. We would be with my family for Christmas and you wrapped the ring box up but had the ring in your pocket. I like picking the small boxes to open one of on Christmas Eve. So I would pick yours. I would open the ring box up thinking it was a necklace or earrings and the box would be empty. I would look up in confusion and you’d be there on one knee in front of me with the ring in your hand and you would say:

“Emery Marie Pine, I love you. I have loved you since our first conversation on June 3rd, 2020. You are everything I could ever ask for and I love you more than words could ever express. There is nothing I have ever wanted even half as much as I want to spend the rest of my life with you. You already make me the happiest man alive, but, please, will you marry me and make me the happiest man alive for the rest of my life?”

And I would cry and say “Of course I will, draga.” And you will take my hand and slip the ring onto my finger and I will get down on my knees too and wrap my arms around your neck and we will both laugh and cry together as we hold each other. You asked my parents for their permission and they said yes and watch us with my sisters in silence and my dad is crying silently while we hold each other.

We will be engaged on Christmas Eve and get married on New Years Eve the next year so I can start my new year as a married woman. We will have a simple, small wedding with daffodils, daisies, and white carnations because you don’t care what flowers we have as long as they’re what I want. We will have two cakes because I want a mocha cake but I also want a tres leches cake so I can enjoy both, but mostly so my mom can have some cake that isn’t chocolate. And it’ll be perfect.

This is what I want more than I can put into words. I have thought about how I would like to be proposed to over and over and this is what I’ve decided is my dream. This is all I want and more. And I would be happy to be married to you in whatever way, but as far as proposals go, this is my favorite way I like to picture it happening.

Love,

Yours

love poems
1

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.