Poets logo

Letter 08/24/21

08/24/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

08/24/21

Dear Unnamed,

Do you ever think about me? Do you ever think of the way I loved you?

Do you remember when you told me to listen to the song “Invisible” by Hunter Hayes and told me that I am not invisible to you— that you saw me? Or the time I hopped down from a ledge and you told me you wanted to help me down by holding my hips and swinging me down to safety like in movies? I realize now that you loved me, maybe even as much as I loved you. I don’t know why I never saw it before now. I’m sorry.

Do you remember the first day we spent together, talking? How we wandered around campus and you walked me back to my dorm? You awkwardly asked me for a hug. Do you remember our first kiss? Or the first time we said we loved each other? How you ate the banana ends and mushrooms? How you dropped to your knees in front of me and cried? How did you love me so much if you could’ve left me as easily as you did?

Do you still love me? You must not, because if you did, you’d still be here. But you’re not. When did you stop loving me? You always said my love was addictive, but you didn’t seem to have a hard time giving it up— giving me up. Why did you do it? Why was I not enough for you? You were always more than enough for me. It’s funny how love lives and dies, isn’t it?

Do you remember how we laid in the grass? How you took me to dinner? No one had done that before.. i love how we laugh together. I feel free with you. And I think maybe you might actually love me as much as I love you. It has been so long. I didn’t know it was possible. Thank you for your love. Please stay with me.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.