Poets logo

Letter 07/15/20

07/15/20

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Letter 07/15/20
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

07/15/20

Dear Unnamed,

There is a difference between promising forever and giving forever. If I promise you my forever, I allow myself to be trapped. If things get broken, it won’t matter— I promised forever, so now I am stuck. And I refuse to be trapped. But I will gladly give you my forever, for then it is my choice to stay. If things get broken, I can take care of myself. I will stay as long as it is healthy, But, if I mromise, I’m bound to stay even when it’s not. I will never promise you forever because I want the choice to stay, to love you. If I promise, all freedom and genuineness is taken away. Let me give that to you, let me choose, let it be genuine. I will love you forever, if you want me to, but it will be both our choices to stay. I will never promise my forever, and I will never ask you to promise yours. But my forever is yours as long as you want it because you are worth being loved forever. I’m not saying I will love you forever as a promise. I’m saying it because it’s true that I’ll give it to you that long, if that is what we both want. Maybe giving and promising apppear the same, and it is true they are cousins, but they share different last names— they are Intention and Meaning. So I will give you as long as you wish because I want to not because I have to.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.