Poets logo

Letter 07/08/21

07/08/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

08/07/21

Dear Unnamed,

I want my life to be like a movie or like one of the classic books I love so much. I want to find a love like what my parents have. I want to find someone who kissses my cheeks and fingers and knows my favorite sandwich and how I like my coffee and love me as entirely and unconditionally as I love them. I want someone who calls me hon because that’s what my parents do. I want someone who calls me love because that’s what the poems do. I want someone who will walk and dance in the rain with me. I want someone who will shamelessly sing in the car with me. I want someone who will check the kitchen for me when something falls and who will fight my hallucinations for me just to put me at ease. I want someone who isn’t afraid of meeting my parents, who respects my mom and jokes with my dad. I want someone who doesn’t think I’m crazy for counting stairs and sidewalk cracks. I want someone who will read poetry to me while I lay in their lap. I want someone who will watch romcoms with me. I want someone who will dance in the living room with me to one of my CDs. I want someone who isn’t afraid to say “I love you”. I want someone who will stay with me through the vision loss and all the anger and sadness it will bring. I want someone who is patient and understanding.

Sometimes I think I’m asking for too much, that I will never find my perfect match, that perfect matches are only makebeleive by naive dreamers like me.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.