Poets logo

Let's

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Let's
Photo by Liam Pozz on Unsplash

Let's

get out of the city

for a while;

like

we always wanted.

You would get in the driver's seat

of a red pickup, or really, anything

which catered to your taste

and I'll haul a few of my personal things,

clothes, bags, a few pairs of shoes

so that I still hold on to some sense of home.

We'll drive for hours on end,

with no exact destination;

exactly how we prefered it.

You're the one who always made the right calls;

you were the one with the dreams,

you were always the one with the ambition,

the gumption.

I fell at your feet just as easily as you fell at my doorstep,

begging

me

to go away with you.

I followed in pursuit of something bigger than

myself,

and here we are,

driving away,

not caring

about anything.

After some time,

we would have to stop for gas.

As we stretch our legs,

we munch on sweet berries

from a nearby farmer's market.

The juice of the fruit runs down my chin,

and your thumb,

makes sure to collect every particle.

By the evening, my head will fall upon your shoulder.

I want to sleep, but I can't help but listen to your voice

tell me stories of your adventures in other places.

You would park by a quiet place,

and stars would be our blanket for the night,

seeing as how we brought nothing with us

but love and good fortune.

Then, you'd serenade me with sweet songs,

of how we are young, wild and free.

I would beg you to stop, giggling.

By the time we have exhausted our voices,

you would have fallen asleep to the sound

of my heartbeat,

tippity-tapping away into slumber,

slowing its constant motion.

I,

on the other hand,

would still be contemplating,

if this was somehow,

still

real.

art
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.