Poets logo

Let Me Move Silently

Let me go at my own pace

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Let Me Move Silently
Photo by Dave Ruck on Unsplash

Let me move silently through this ever-changing life.

Allow me to grow and go in directions and along paths that others can and will not go,

for I am not them, and I will never be.

Give me the space to choose what is right for me and me alone,

to do those things that don’t always fit into the societal constructs that we have been spoon-fed since we were welcomed into this reality.

Grant me the same patience that you would grant a child that is just learning to walk,

for I forgot what that was like whilst I was too busy running to keep up and go at a pace that was pre-approved for me by family members,

teachers,

doctors,

friends and enemies,

employers,

colleagues,

and so many more.

I ask these things of you not because I require your permission,

approval,

acceptance,

or validation.

I am fully capable of giving that to myself.

Instead, I am asking you

to give me what I am already giving to myself

and not to take it away from me.

This is my life to live.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.