Poets logo

Lessons

A poem about relating to a child by ED 6/15/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Lessons
Photo by Alfonso Scarpa on Unsplash

Let me chide you now

While my head is clear

I want to discipline out of love

To instruct, not instill fear

I know I’ve taught you right from wrong

We’ve been through this before

Treat others well, as well as yourself

Your sins you ought to abhor

I know you won’t always

Take these lessons so kindly

Try to hear them now

Before the world sweeps you away blindly

There is much to be said about your behavior

Many ways to interpret these acts

I see a reflection of myself in you

Which is why I can relax

I have the privilege of explaining this well

Because I experienced it, too

I might not have been your age but the look on your face

Is one I remember and won’t forget soon

We’re much more similar, you and I

Than I think you realize

I have studied this particular pedagogy

For decades, which I try to sterilize

Clean up, and present professionally

To make it more palatable

Though I fear that may have been a disservice

For it is hardly relatable

Then forgive me, my dear

Excuse the imperfection

I do my best, God handles the rest

Let’s redo this impersonal correction.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    'I might not have been your age but the look on your face Is one I remember and won’t forget soon' Very relatable. Awesome work, Emily!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.