Poets logo

Legendary Poetry

Poetry by Legend van Beek

By Legend GilchristPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Legendary Poetry
Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

Pain

I loudly scream. With no words. No sound for nobody but myself to hear. In my head. And only in my head. I'd like to say that someone cares. But nobody does. In reality, everyone that I know and who knows me does, in fact, care.

The day I tried to live, I failed. And failed again. Pain tends to do that to you. It does for me as it daily brings me to the sad situation of conceded failure, many times bringing to my leather worn knees in defeat. But I will not yield. I will press on. I continue on with my journey as painful it may be.

One more time around I tell myself. And another time around. And another. And another. And another. Ad infinitum. Forever and ever Amen. Or so some say. I can't say Amen to that or to my pain. Except in one instance. I understand that Amen means true. That's the one true thing I know, that my pain is real, true, a fact. A fact that I cannot bear to endure for another damn day.

And yet, pain my "friend", if I can all it that, comes to haunt me daily. It it visits me in the morning, in the afternoon, in the evening, and disrupts my sleep happily it seems. I suspect that my pain actually enjoys persecuting my body with blows that reach far and deep within me. What a perverse thought that is. Of course, my pain is not a person that could do that but it feels like it is.

My pain feels like a bully who loves to harass and punish me, to make me feel sad and hopeless, to take away my joy and happiness. A bully who stands tall and large before me ready to strike another blow to my feeble body. To be honest, if my pain were a person it would be the best bully in the history of bullies.

The pain I endure is an ancient and evil warrior that most are intimately acquainted with. Many have succumb to it's fierce blows. Many like me, stand quivering in it's sight. It is an enemy not to be taken advantage of for it will strike at anytime, and in sometimes for some, like I, at all times.

Pain is a beast. A beast perfectly created to harass, intimidate, terrify, torture, and belittle me. I am inclined to submit to it's leading. Yet I don't. I'm no hero, far from it. I'm no pushover though. Still, my foe is mighty and I stand with trembling legs and a failing body before it. How will I remain standing before the great pain before and inside me?

At times, pain has had me, possessed me, controled me though I struggle somewhat bravely before it, taking it's blows as it strikes me over and over again. The welts on my body are not visible though they are ever present in my mind, my soul, and everywhere which are not visible to the human eyes.

My eyes demonstrate my pain. They say that one can read a person's emotions as they search their eyes. If you were to peer into my eyes you might have a taste of the bitter fruit I consume on a daily basis which poisons my inner being with a toxic mix of morose bitterness and noxious nutrient.

As I sort through the issues of my pain, I vow not to succumb to it no matter how brutal it may be. It's brutality can be quite poignant at times bringing me to tears on occasion. I will not yield to it's advances. I will press on with the fight and stand firm before it though it may slash and cut at the very core of my life.

I will stand firm, resolute, and proud. I will not concede defeat over my pain no matter how hard it gets. I will eventually triumph over it though it should slay me for though my body may fail my brave and faithful heart will always endure. In the end, I will stand proud victoriously even though I shall wear the battle scars that I have endured. I will wear these proudly as metals won from battle.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Legend Gilchrist

I am a retired English teacher. I have been writing for 27 years. I live in the Palm Springs area of Southern California. I am a poet, writer, and novelist. I enjoy writing about rock music culture. I hope to write for Rolling Stone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.