Poets logo

Left to Spoil

Parish

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Left to Spoil
Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

At what point did you decide I should parish?

Left on the shelf to let bacteria dine.

Are you happy now that I am spoiled?

Rotted by whim or planned by design.

Were you tortured as I expired?

Or was it the sweet release that you had in mind?

Have I always made your stomach sour?

Or was I marvelous before my decline?

If so, did you ever think to take me to dinner?

Or were you too embarrassed to pair me with cherry red wine?

Unless of course you’d rather I thank you for

allowing me the pleasure to smell this new foul odor of mine?

I suppose I’ll completely rot before you answer

so I’ll just wait,

and lay alongside,

incredulous decay with my pride.

Thank you for taking the time to read “Left to Spoil.” If you enjoyed my work and want to read more, please check out “Panes of Glass,” which was featured as a Vocal Top Story!

I also recently joined Medium if you would like to read some of my works over there!

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Megabout a year ago

    Brilliant! Thoroughly enjoyed this poem from start to finish. Great metaphor. I could really feel the emotion here. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.