Poets logo

Left Alone but Not For Long

Do we choose loneliness?

By TammyReneePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Yes, I chose this state of being

I can't blame others for not coming around me.

When I had the chance, I took it for granted.

No time cause I had to clean

Too tired to hang out - just too late for me?

What about the energy? - I didn’t want to feel or set free.

All the reasons to keep me inside

All the reasons to keep me from coming out at night.

Just no good reasons to make a deeper connection.

Fast forward in time

Not a soul to be found in sight, Not anyone I feel I can call on tonight

Sure I meet others along the way

By not nourishing them, let them go astray.

I'm sure there are a few that remember me

And maybe believe in me, -

I didn't believe in me, you see.

Kept my distance,

Built a wall of steel,

Used the key of shame to keep it safe.

Called it protecting myself? instead I abandoned - my myself.

I don’t want to be the old lady watching a cat chase a few mice around

I don’t want to lose a sense of community

or have to think I can’t call or visit in town.

I don’t want to feel like its just me

I think it’s time to leave lonely at the house.

And get out and fulfill some needs.

TammyRenee

inspirational
1

About the Creator

TammyRenee

As I start my next journey, words are what I have to share,

life experiences, life lessons, and emotional connections from different perspectives.

instagram.com/tammyreneetransformation/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.