Poets logo

Leaving Oblivion

Screw this. I'm leaving. Life will not keep me down.

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I feel as though I am lost in this dark oblivion

I am trying to just find my purpose in life…

Because I know life does have purpose

And meaning.

I know it does.

But,

I’ve let these setbacks,

The big,

And small,

Nudge me into this dark oblivion

Where I feel safe and in danger at the same time…

It’s almost as if…

After all the crying

And grieving

That everything is at a stand still.

And my heart

Is waiting

For me to

Make a choice.

To stay in this dark, stagnant, oblivion

Or to leave.

I’m afraid to leave

But I’m also afraid to stay.

I’m afraid that if I leave,

Something else will try to push me deeper in to this soul-sucking black hole.

But if I stay, I’l sink further into oblivion.

Or complacency.

Maybe the two aren’t mutually exclusive.

But I feel like I’m down here, crying out for help

Hoping a man in bright shining armor will reach out

And pull me right into his arms.

Not this time.

Time for me to get out,

Without a crutch

Without fear.

It’s time for me to venture

Into what I’m really meant for.

Because I know this freaking oblivion

Just isn’t it.

By Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.