Poets logo

Learning to Run, When I Couldn't Walk

A Poem

By Steven BaldryPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Learning to run, when I couldn’t walk...

360 Kilometres later...

5 months into the year.

I’m approaching my biggest challenge to date.

With no apprehension or fear.

It seems like yesterday I sat ashamed.

So over weight and lost in negativity.

As the Dr told me “There’s no way you’ll ever run.”

“You’re too heavy, it’s no good for your knees.”

It’s fair to say I’ve never really been fit...

But also to say it’s not in me to quit.

So against what I was told I went my own way.

And decided to not listen to all the Dr did say!

I began on the treadmill huffing and puffing away.

Slowly but surely finding it a little easier each day.

Sweat would soon appear and my mind would say I’m done.

I soon realised I had only just begun.

I started to push myself more and discovered I could go further.

Faster and stronger against the doubt of my mind.

There were things I discovered of myself so priceless to me...

That I never thought I would find.

Before I knew I was out running in the park.

In the rising morning sun, in the early evening dark.

Through the rain, against the wind feeling the air in my lungs.

Whatever was to happen in the future I felt already I had won.

For I was feeling life flow through my veins.

Seeing the beauty of all that surrounded me once again.

Along the roads, up the hills through the valleys I’d roam.

With people smiling and waving, I never felt alone.

So many times I would turn my head and I would see...

A dog or two running keeping up with me.

Over my shoulder in the distance an owner would wave.

As I’d venture off along my path going my own way.

When the fear would rise and tell me “you can’t go on”...

The love would argue “you can and you are strong”...

“Do it for her, to show her anything is possible...

Don’t let anything in this life hold you back”...

“We can achieve all we want to if we try our hardest”...

“If we keep moving forward looking ahead, not looking back”

And now the challenge is here and I am not afraid.

I will try my best to go the distance right from the start.

No matter how much I stumble and fall again and again.

I will get up and try harder with belief in my heart.

For I’ve found running is so much the same as in life.

Where you get what you give and sometimes it don’t feel so right.

But the harder you push, the harder you fight.

The greater the reward, the peace and happiness inside.

I think back now to when I heard that Dr talk...

When I wanted so much to run but I found it hard to walk.

How my life would be so different had I never even tried.

May this be the lesson...

That I remember all my life.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.