Poets logo

Last Night

There are no words to properly tell you I love you

By Isabella BiberajPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Last night you asked me

“How do you know you actually love me?”

In my half asleep haze, the words failed to flow.

But honestly I don’t think there are any string of words that can properly tell you how I know.

My mind wanders back, all the way to Perry Street.

My breath stunned, noticing a person I had only ever seen in daydreams.

Nerves so high, my heart was in disbelief.

And before my mind could catch up, the words flowed. Skip the small talk. Let them flow.

Honest. Nervous. So very nervous.

The very first time you held my hand, my heart nearly ripped out of my chest.

Let him in, it urged. Skip the small talk. Let him in.

When your lips met mine in the back of the bar, it was like an explosion in the sky.

Ears ringing, mind melting, hands shaking.

Giving parts to you that had never seen daylight.

Hiding parts I feared should never see the light.

Seeing your face in every place I go.

Craving your touch at 12 pm

Anxiously waiting by the phone

Meeting you in my dreams, giving them color for the very first time

Expose the unlovable parts, the words flowed. Wait, no. They tumbled, they didn’t flow.

Coupled with the aching of separation,

When it rains, it pours.

An earth shattering storm.

In the corner I see the silhouette of a window sill. Future memories leak through it.

Take over the thunder.

Let the sunlight calm the tears.

Close my eyes. Take a deep breath. Pools of hazel consumes my mind. The shadow of dark curly hair emerges on the empty pillow next to me. The sound of your voice, sweet like sugar, fills my chest.

The only sound I want to hear for the rest of my life.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Isabella Biberaj

rambling thoughts from an over thinker

@three_am_talks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.