Poets logo

Last I Checked

I had a name.

By Rowan Finley Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Last I

Checked I

Had A

Name But

For some

Odd reason

It was

Never recorded

My husband's

Name was

Noted but

Mine wasn't

I know

That I

Am remembered

My faith

Sent from

Heaven it

Was what

Provided me

With the

Patience that

I needed

The blood

The sweat

The tears

And fears

And back

Ache and

All those

Times we

Were made

Fun of

All those

Things mattered

And that

Is why

I am

Content with

The rest

Of history

Not knowing

My name

So my

Earthly name

Remains and

Will forever

Be nameless

That is

Me nameless

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.