Poets logo

Last Days

The goodbye

By Jason Ray Morton Published about a year ago 1 min read
6
Last Days
Photo by Gemma Evans on Unsplash

The last days are coming

Said with a sigh

Nothing will stop them

So why stop and cry

I’ll walk with you to the wishing well

Laughing every day we can

Not standing and waiting for the toll of the bell

Rather going down knowing I ran

Dance we will

Every night and into the day

Dealt a bitter pill

My last days will be at play

Few thing left to do

The list is quite small

We’ll do every one we can, I promise you

And get them all before I fall

Last days are coming

And I stay out of there grasp

Forever I’d stay roaming

When they come letting out a surprised gasp

Last days are coming

Or so the doc does say

Meds are numbing

So I continue to play

Told you all I should

The words never to come

How much I love you if I could

Sorrow is only for some

My last days are coming

Faster and faster each day

Systems stopped humming

And wished I had to stay

Things left unsaid

Sorry that I waited

Remember when I’m dead

By Sorrow, your life can’t be invaded

My last days are near

My life was good and long

The end is close I fear

The final bell has gong

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Very emotional but excellent words

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    WOW Jason this was absolutely stunning 💕

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, what a sad poem, yet one that is full of acceptance and with this, also strength. Very well done.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my, this is deep.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Emotional and very moving!

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    OMG this is so deep and tear-jerking

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.