Poets logo

Last Christmas

By

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Last Christmas
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

Nothing this year 

compared to the last.

Newness and cheer

never meant to last.

A world so hard

and tempered mostly by pain.

Time has gone too far

and nothing ever will be the same.

Simple needs once met

and tools for doing so, gone.

Christmas's I forget, 

in a world so wrong.

The year behind, 

and nothing good lies in my sight.

Now all that is left is to put it out of my mind

and ignore the world until after Christmas night.

In the cold of the darkness in which I dwell,

the last one may have been meant to be the last.

Tiring of living, never wanting this hell,

my only Christmas wish, for it to be over fast.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.