Poets logo

Knowledge of Self.

Know who you are, love who you are.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Acknowledge yourself with knowledge of self. Make sure you fill your mind up with lots of knowledge of health.

When you’re embracing the world so you can show who you are, make sure you do it with confidence that you know who you are.

As a young Black male I was never scary, but Malcolm X said be careful by any means necessary.

He also said make sure I know and love my identity because others will hate it and see me as their enemy.

To also never hide in doubt that my heritage is beautiful inside and out.

Because of his wisdom, I was the first to embrace me, without focusing on efforts to erase me.

I’m not afraid of those who try to degrade me. They’ll never measure up to the man that made me.

Self knowledge is important, we need it today. Tomorrow belongs to all those who seek it today.

Malcolm said when I know myself I’ll never be scared again. I’ll stand as a proud fearless Afro American.

When I face the world in negro form, I will see more storms, but I will fear no storms.

So as my melanin faces the world to show who I am, I’ll be fearless and I’ll forever know who I am.

Looking back I’ll be proud of myself that I carried Malcolm’s teachings on knowledge of self.

~~Dedicated to one of my greatest heroes, Malcolm X. May your teachings continue to liberate the mind.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.