Poets logo

Kissed by Rain

The pain in hope and wait

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Kissed by Rain
Photo by Anna Atkins on Unsplash

I stood in the falling moors,

Arms opened like wooden doors,

The water dripping around,

Mixing with the thunder’s sound.

Cold clenching my spine,

But I felt fine.

I am merely a bird peering up,

Opening my hands to form a cup.

Tasting sweetness in this cage,

A cycle as endless as its age.

Relishing in a breath so free,

Unlike the little bird of me,

I turn to grasp the cold bars,

Wishing to wash away the scars.

And, I hold a hope deep inside,

That in this ocean I can hide,

The sobs that slip,

From my parted lip.

Perhaps, I can suppress the ache,

As I gaze upon this vast lake,

I stretch my hands to pull it near,

But, the metal imbeds its fear,

Butchering my lung,

Destroying the song I would have sung.

So, I sit in the rain,

And, let it kiss away the pain.

*This is a poem written when I was a child. I do not change or edit poems from my childhood out of respect to the young girl who wrote them. I trust that she knew what she was doing and wanted to say.*

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.