Poets logo

Keep Going

and find yourself

By Martin AhrensPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Keep Going
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Directly after it happened,

words flowed like a spring stream.

I wrote through the mourning,

scribbled through the pain.

Then I came out there,

and I tried to heal my heart.

I saw, touched, felt

everything that was you...

I lost my voice that day,

no words have come since.

For months I wonder why,

Where had my voice gone?

….Until he called me,

And we spoke of you.

He hurt, I hurt

The change began.

All this time,

fear held my voice hostage.

To write what I felt,

I needed to first feel.

Here I sit,

poorly putting some words down

as if to pretend I fixed the problem.

By Victor Creed on Unsplash

The fact is I am lost.

In my years I have lost a great deal,

yet nothing has ever felt like this.

Alone I sit at night wondering

how do I continue without you,

how does life be normal again?

Truth be told, I am the problem,

My thoughts I avoid,

I am not comfortable with myself.

Does this mean I start over,

I don’t know who I am.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.