Poets logo

Just You

it feels nice to focus on one person

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

normal people would call this infatuation

but I have ADHD

I am familiar with the dopamine rush that comes from talking to a new person

the temporary love feeling

just because someone interesting is talking to me

this isn't that

because when those people don't talk to me for too long the switch flips

I move on to the next dopamine rush

in the form of a pretty person being responsive to my messages

we don't get to talk much

so when we do it matters

when you are too busy to respond

I don't assume the worst

I don't even consider a shiny new person

because I can't shake the thought of you

I look forward to the growth of our friendship

I am just going to enjoy my time with you

the love will bloom

I am sure of it this time

so I can wait

and that feels nice to know

I'll save up songs that make me think of you

and how I feel

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    I felt this in my chest. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.