Poets logo

Just Masking

I see you baby...

By Warwick Holding Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Just Masking

I see you baby, behind that mask

Sounds like that breath, could be your last

I see you baby, behind that mask

Are you smiling, at this face hiding farce?

I see you baby, behind that mask

Is it an N95, because it looks like a scarf ?

I see you baby, behind that face covering

Do you feel safer, or are you suffering?

I see you baby, behind that mask

Did you make it yourself, was it a difficult task?

I see you baby, hiding your beautiful smile

You’ve lost the ability, to charm and beguile

I see you baby, behind that mask

Did you wear it, before you were forcibly asked?

I see you baby, behind those old T-shirt strips

Was it made using the governments tips?

I see you baby, wearing that mask

How much of the science info, did you grasp?

I see you baby, believing mainstream hype

I’m amazed you fell for it, you didn’t seem the type

I see you baby, behind that mask

Are you saving lives, when you shop in Mark’s ?

I see you baby, with your mask, driving home

Do you wear it, when you are indoors, alone?

I see you baby, terrified and completely scared

Of the propaganda and confusion, the government has shared

I see you baby, I realise being scared, is not a fault

Nor is my non compliance, it’s choice we should support

I see you baby, behind that mask

Will you wear it forever, or will the fear pass ?

I wish I could see you baby, without you face hidden

Am I allowed, or is it forbidden ?

Just Masking

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Warwick Holding

I’ve always been a storyteller, I’d love to say I was a writer, but I can’t. If people were even reading this on the toilet. I’d be humbled.

I write short, but true stuff, I try to mix honesty with humour, because it’s the only way I know

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.