Poets logo

Just a Friend

June 2021

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Just a Friend
Photo by Priscilla Fraire on Unsplash

If I were standing here in the cold, naked and shivering,

would you offer me your coat or put it on yourself for a fourth layer?

If I got dragged off by a vicious animal, how long would it take for you

to notice? When you did, would you even care?

I can make suggestions, but never plans, because no matter what I want

or what I say, you'll always have the final word

No adventures will ever be *our* adventures, I'm just along as an observer

on your expeditions, not meant to be seen or heard

You'll be so kind as to even take a professional photo together, but

of course you don't want a copy just to remember someone like me

Plus a hard print would be taking a risk because you might accidentally

leave it out somewhere that, God forbid, someone could see

They might catch a glimpse and discover your big fat secret that you seem

so bothered and embarrassed by

It must be hard on your neck up there looking down on me because you

yourself are such a superior and perfect guy

Honestly it stung a little to hear you say you have a friend in town,

and you said it as if I'm just a friend like any other

I'm not worthy of a label, but whatever the fuck I am, I'm about to be gone,

and good luck finding another

How many of your friends dote on you? Try to lift you up?

Try to be there to support you through anything?

How many of your friends have flown across the country multiple times

to see you? How many treat you like a king?

How many of your friends would give you another chance after you

stomped on their heart and caused so many tears?

How many of your friends have confessed their love for you?

How many have you been fucking for 3 years?

No, I've seen you interact with friends, and even coworkers

and acquaintances, so that couldn't possibly be

You consistently show more concern, regard, reciprocity, and respect

for all of them than you ever do for me

I can't keep doing this, knowing it won't last

and wondering if you'll appreciate and miss me when I'm gone

Sometimes I like to think that down the road you'll look back,

realize and regret how you treated me, but I'm probably wrong

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.