Poets logo

just a casual epiphany

trauma shouldn't be normal

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I think I am my ideal self

The person I could have been if the world never hurt me

If I had come into the world on time

Been born into a partnership that loved one another

That communicated successfully when there were conflicts

That didn’t talk about each other badly to the kids that were supposed to represent a union of their love

That cared about each other so deeply they would move worlds for each other

That liked each other’s little quirks

If I had grown up believing happy marriages were possible

Then I would believe that kind of love exists for me

I would have the confidence to love patiently

To not force feelings that aren’t there yet and ruin a good friendship

To know that building a foundation is okay

To know that love is a feeling

And a feeling doesn’t disappear when the person isn’t in your sight

To know that people who love you don’t secretly talk bad about you when you can’t see them

That version of me would be so happy right now

But all I feel is doubt about something if it’s not in my field of vision

I can’t believe some people believe things exist

That everything in the universe would still exist if we closed our eyes

That we wouldn’t just be in the eternal void

Every time we blink

And cease to be

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Your words reveal the innermost part of your heart and soul. That is bravery. That is courage. still, we are deeply wounded by life sometimes and left with scars that never go away. Your writing is one of the best ways to work on your own healing, and I can feel this effort in reading some of your work. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.