Poets logo

Junk Yard Story

Canem et Pulicem Unum

By r. nuñezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
A mutt like me

The little fellow was a flea.

He said, “I’m looking for a spot, you see,

To settle down and raise a fam,

And take their pictures with a cam;

Perhaps, I’ll start a fam’ly tree.”

~

I said, “So, why’d you pick a mutt like me?

I’m lean and mangy as can be.

Perhaps you cannot see the sham

In coming to this barren ham,

When there are others, just as free.

~

“See that Dalmatian over there?

Why, he’s got spots, and some to spare.

And there’s the cheetah, pretty cool,

And that hyena by the pool –

Giraffes or zebras, I don’t care!”

~

“On zebras, those are stripes” he said,

“Giraffes have rates way o’er my head,

You know what those hyenas eat,

And I can’t catch the cheetah’s feet,

To climb aboard and claim a stead.

~

“And that Dalmatian, I must say,

Does have the spots to give away.

The reason that I cannot bear

To bite that canine, plump and fair,

Is he gets bathed most ev’ry day.”

r. nuñez, 11/2013

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

r. nuñez

I am a shamanic priest who loves to write stories, poetry, and songs. Retired, but still helping people, animals, and the planet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.