Poets logo

Jump (Edited)

An edited version of my poem Jump

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I wish it were easy to tell you

All of the things I would like to do for you

All of the things I would like to see

All of the wants I have



I would like to offer you flowers

Only the most beautiful ones

Sunflowers

Lilies

Orchids

Roses

All of the ones that I know you adore



I would like to thread my fingers with yours

Run my thumb across the soft flesh and over your knuckles

And plant little kisses on your palms



I would like to run my fingers through your hair

Whenever you need comfort

Whenever you're laying your head against me

My knees

My shoulder

My chest

My stomach

When we're curled up together

When you're sleeping



I would like to see you in all of your beautiful ways

When you're spending the entire day at home in leggings and a t-shirt

Wearing something of mine

A jacket

A cardigan

A t-shirt

A pair of pajama pants

Messy bun or hair hanging down around your shoulders and cascading down your back

Dressed up to go out

In a wedding dress, gliding down the aisle like the angel you are



Why can't I open my mouth?

Why can't I tell you what you need to hear,

What you deserve to hear?



Darling,

I'm afraid.

I'm afraid to lose you.

I'm afraid to lose your beauty

Your charm

Your smile

Your laugh

Your friendship

Your nurturing

Your kindess



I'm not used to it, either.

I'm not used to having something so unconditional in my life

And, even though it's not here physically at every turn

I still feel it

Still see it

Because God gives it to me

In dreams



Darling

I want to jump

I want to jump without being terrified of your arms not being there to catch me

I want to dive into the deep without fearing that I'd drown without you there to save me



But I guess that's just it, isn't it?

I need to let go of Fear

To have Love

To have Us

To have You



I want to jump

Jump

Jump

Dive

Deep

Then Deeper

Into that Ocean of Love



Will you jump too?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.