Poets logo

Jobs

Floetry by Lady Psyren

By Lady PsyrenPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

“Don’t kill yo’self,” they said

As they watch me wear many hats

“Just 5 more mins,” I said

Instead of taking my ass to bed

This is a story of a girl

Who wants so much for this world

“But this world don’t want much for you”

Said my mom

You know she never did bite her tongue

I work...at a job I semi-love

I work...at a job that shows me love

I work...at a job I truly love and

I work...at a job that with whom I love

(Shit...that’s a lot of jobs)

I guess you’re wondering why I work so much

Well I told you, I want a lot for this world

I want to be able to heal everything I touch

But I can only do so much...I’m only one girl

There’s a lot to prove about us

It’s hard and I don’t even know why

Aren’t we just like any others

Yet we have the urge to protect our black brothers?

You seen what’s happening,

On the news and in the city

Black men are being killed

by those who have gotten greedy

Well that’s where I come in

Remember the job where I work with the one I love?

We are out here helping to change the image

Of what they think Black Men are made of

Now remember the job that I love truly?

The style that I bring is truly different

See, I’ve been listening to a lot of main stream lately

And I got to say it’s become a bit unruly

Its not what it use to be,

but there is a different audience today

But underground is where my job comes in

There, the audience can play what they want to play

Then there’s my day job

Well, hell, we all got one of those

That’s the one that I semi-love

But it’s definitely not the one I would have chose

But doing it gives me a sense of power

The one where I can be the proof

That black women aren’t the exception

We’re the ones who blow through the mf-ing roof

Then there’s the job that shows me love

Now that one, I wouldn’t change it at all

It’s made up of different flavors of people

All made from our own

We speak our mind and no one judges

We speak the truth and no one grudges

I speak to you and you soak up my vibes

So thank you all for listening

I love all you guys

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lady Psyren

I am an independent artist and writer based in Milwaukee, WI. I've always enjoyed writing and I use nature to help me do it. I write Hip-Hop/R&B and Video Game Music. My poetry is usually about the world as I see it and my culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.