Poets logo

Jealousy

A Passionate Poison

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Jealousy
Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

The average person

enslaved in the matrix

judges others

because they have yet

to accept themselves

:

Using hate to inflate their ego

Their inflatable dinosaur costume

that masks their insecurities

by casting an image of empowerment

that hides the frail shaking human

they deny themselves to be

:

Building bonds through gossip

Creating communities

by casting off others

who threaten the power

they hold in their position

:

I made a vow to myself as a young child

“I will never make another feel

as alienated and hated as I have felt.”

“I always strive to accept people for who they are.”

:

Yet I’ve come to realize

no matter how accepting as I am of myself and others

No matter the amount of my fierce compassion*

pulsing throughout my meridians

I still encounter those people who judge me

those people who hate me

those who gossip about me

:

While it used to frustrate me

that “No matter how loving I am

people still choose to hate me.”

I’ve realized over time

from the help of sages

That sometimes people only

have a deep capacity to hate

because that hate is fueled by jealousy

:

Jealousy is a passionate poison

brewed from inadequacy

and idealization

that destroys everything

in the warlocks path

Everything that keeps them from

attaining what the one

they envy most

possesses

:

It is a poison

That drives the jealous one mad

It is a poison

that sabotages the envied successes

:

It is the black magic of thought

The spell of gossip

Wishing the worst for the person

they admire the most

:

Masking their admiration

behind a smokescreen

of judgment and hate

:

When in reality they

wish the worst upon

the person they wish

the most that they could be

:

:

:

*credit goes to Gene Ramirez for describing me as having fierce compassion

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.