Poets logo

It's Not What I Lack

A poem for women. It's not always you.

By Kayla JeffersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2021
66
I have a backbone, And that's all I really need.

Why am I not her?

Is it because her skin is lighter

And more appealing?

Her eyes brighter, and filled

With something mine don’t have?

Is it because you understand her better

While my words get lost in translation?

I’d change my hair one hundred times for an ounce

Of what you pour into her

What does she have that i don’t?

Is it because I began to see?

See What you were after?

Did i not play my part well enough?

Not give you what you wanted?

I didn’t bend over when you said bend?

Is it because I didn’t submit?

I guess I should ask

What do I have that she doesn’t?

It wasn’t so clear to see at first

What you find in me, you won’t find in her

It’s what she lacks, and not I

For I know who I am, and I don’t need a missing piece

I have a backbone

And that’s all I really need.

If you enjoyed this piece, check out another one of my poems titled "The Muses". Tips are not expected, but greatly appreciated if you like my work!

inspirational
66

About the Creator

Kayla Jefferson

I am a 23 year old writer based in Houston, TX. I write short, creative fiction, true crime analysis, and poetry. I hope you find something you like here in my world. Tips are not expected, but appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.