Poets logo

It's Art if You Let it Be

So Let it Be....

By Joseph WalkerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Poetry can be so simple.

And yet I try to be complex.

An easy word can't be deceiving.

Or can it? I digress.

Why must I try to make these words,

Read like a college thesauruses?

In my head, "a giant, prehistoric"

And all I mean is "tyrannosaurus."

Jumbled words of spoken truth.

There I go again.

Up, down, escalate, descend.

Why must I play pretend?

I feel, I know, my audience will understand.

The meaning of complication.

I sift through words to sound astute.

No need for explanation.

Flip the script, art is subjective.

I need not try to expand.

What's fine with one, is not for another.

Its MY art, you see, and you remain my friend.

Those last two lines

Didn't even rhyme.

I changed the game you see.

Because my words,

aren't always for you.

Sometimes, they're for me.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.