Poets logo

It’s All Up to Me

A poem about life.

By Noah NelsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
It’s All Up to Me
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

It’s all up to me

Everything in this life

If I’m going to do it anyway

I might as well do it right

I can’t rely others

My success will be on my own

My merit will define me

Wherever I may go

I wish to live this life

To the best level it can be

But it’s not up to you

It’s entirely up to me

I keep thinking others must help me

That is partly true at times

But it’s not their life I want to live

It’s mine

So I’m going out into the world

As free as I can be

It’s not up to you how I live

It’s all up to me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Noah Nelson

I’m currently pursuing a Master of Science in Journalism at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. If I’m not reading or writing, I’m probably at a concert or playing acoustic guitar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.