Poets logo

It Must Be

a poem by Emily

By EmilyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

This is a poem that is based on the Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera. It explores the idea of lightness & heaviness in relationships.

I have only just got back into writing poetry... so I'm sorry I can't give you back your 2.5 minutes, but I recommend giving it a second listen.

I took the cobblestones two at a time, the warm sweet air and murmurs of a fight in a tongue where I could only understand the intonation. I hummed the song you played for me.. I could only remember two bars. I scanned unknown faces while counting the beats of my feet. I was on the other side of town, and hoping to stumble upon your all knowing gaze.



When we met, you swigged from my wine bottle and I was no longer thirsty. “I’ve never met a girl like you before.” (You said with a toothy grin) “And I don’t think I’ll ever meet one like you again.” 



We curled up on the precipice of desire, covered with the thin cotton sheet that acted as our barrier from the loud and unjust world. In these deliberate moments I knew you had always owned a piece of my bruised soul. You counted the freckles on my nose and my cheeks, and we knew we had to hold our breath as nothing this heavy lasted for forever. 



The night was for getting lost in the streets and the sheets, taking three cobblestones at a time, and getting so close our eyelashes touched. 



The morning was for sitting at your kitchen table. Cross legged and light pouring in on our faces as we drank our watered down espresso (Americano for the American) and stringing together melodies and words that would tell our story long after. 



You paused somewhere between the key of A & D… Your pale blue eyes crinkled and you said:

“Cara, you’re the chiaro & the scuro” 



I blushed



And you said:



Es muss sein.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Emily

As a singer, I never felt comfortable writing my own melodies to music (crazy I know) through writing my own poetry I was able to truly dig deep into my inner most thoughts. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.