Poets logo

It isn't Christmas without you.

Loss

By Kara BunkerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
It isn't Christmas without you.
Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

Goodbyes and silent tears

Time to face all my fears.

My brain screams

Eyes stream.

Still waiting for my phone to ring,

your name to flash across my screen.

To hear your voice and hold you tight.

To the Gods I'm screaming this isn't right!

It's not Christmas without you here.

What I wouldn't give to have you near.

Only "Dad" I ever had.

Why does this world have to be so sad.

I watch my daughter talk to you.

Never got to walk with you.

Kids talk to you on a daily basis.

I hope you are surrounded by friendly faces.

Merry Christmas let's rejoice.

I can just hear your voice.

Merry Christmas eve eve as you'd say.

But without you, It feels like just another day.

Dancing with angles

singing to the stars

although you are no longer here.

I know you will never be far.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kara Bunker

Just a mom who loves to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.