Poets logo

It is time

Recognizing a love lost

By Jeff KrausePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hope you got all you wanted

While leaving me in the dirt

It will be alright though

I’m used to being hurt

I can’t say it’s what I wanted

I should have opened my eyes

You made it kinda hard to do that

You held them closed with your lies

Thanks for doing me the favor

Of kicking me to the curb

Cause I can finally see now

How I was being absurd

You used to say that you loved me

I think you thought that you did

But your idea of love

Is twisted and destructive

I think it’s time to let go now

I say that more to myself

You’re not worthy of love

I know you’ll get what you deserve

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jeff Krause

I’ve been a musician for almost 25 years, that alone could provide story material for days. Life-long depression and drug addiction have had me constantly struggling to survive. But here I am, getting by a day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.